New Music Wednesday

Ok it’s been a while since I told you about new music. I’ve not had much going on since I told you about how awesome Mary Lambert was and how I loved Colbie Caillat’s song “Try.”

So I’ve got 2 new albums for you and a couple of singles.

****

Ok so let’s start with The Voice. Yes, the show.  So there’s this one singer named Taylor John Williams.  I’ve never really watched the show before this season so I’m a newbie to the process of how it works, but anyway he did a great remake of the song “Royals” by Lorde. Buy it. Get it. You won’t be sorry.

Then there’s Damien (also from the Voice).  He did a killer remake of “Someone Like You,” by Adele. He’s amazing live because he has such an emotional connection to music and watching him makes you really feel the music.  I’m a live music nerd, so maybe it’s just me.

Both of those are on the iTunes charts, that’s how awesome they are! Pretty impressive from dudes on a singing show, if you ask me.

****

I participated in the Idina Menzel Holiday Wishes album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided an album to review but all opinions are my own.

https://members.one2onenetwork.com/embed/547fac882ac13ba4168bf4c3Idina Menzel. The queen of the world. Well, her alter ego, Elsa is anyway. She’s got a Christmas album, Holiday Wishes, out and it’s pretty good. We listened to it during the baking binge while getting ready for Friendsgiving. It’s not quite the holiday season unless you’re listening to Christmas music.

I was really looking forward to this one because, duh, it’s Elsa! I still love her second “For the First Time in Forever” song that she sings with Anna when she’s in the ice castle. Oh wait, squirrel! Ok. So anyway, I’d seen her remake of “Baby it’s cold outside,” with Michael Buble and it was really good. The video was odd because it was made with kids and not adults, but the song was great.

Being a lover of all things Disney, I loved “When you wish upon a Star.” “Do You Hear What I Hear,” “December Prayer,” and “River,” are my favorites. Pretty much all of them except “All I Want for Christmas is You” because that belongs to Mariah Carey. And Justin Bieber (don’t ask)–so no one can really remake that one in my eyes.

The album was beautiful. It’s one of those relaxing sit by the fire and listen on repeat type of albums.

If you want a sneak peek of the songs on the album, check out this trailer. It’s pretty awesome and you won’t be disappointed. She’s really great. And I challenge you to try to not picture Elsa in some of them.

This is an album that I’d have happily bought and added to my Christmas collection. You should too!

* iTunes : http://bit.ly/IMHolidayWishes
* Amazon:  http://bit.ly/IDINAHOLIDAY

https://members.one2onenetwork.com/embed/547fad412ac13bfe178bf4c1

****

 I participated in the Mary J Blige The London Sessions album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided a free album to review but all opinions are my own. 

https://members.one2onenetwork.com/embed/547fabd92ac13b50138bf4c6Then there’s Mary J. Blige’s new album, The London Sessions. She’s looking pretty damn good. The woman doesn’t age. But the album…unfortunately, I really have nothing to say about it other than it was highly disappointing. It just wasn’t what I was expecting from her. NOTHING like her album, The Breakthrough, which was great.

“Doubt” which is an anthem about believing in yourself starts off the album so I had high hopes, even though it doesn’t actually sound that great, it has a good message. There’s a song called “Not Loving You,” where she basically says that if you’re not loving yourself, there’s only so much she can do. Ummm, ok.

 

This is clearly an album by a woman coming out of a relationship and finding herself. Rock on. That’s awesome. “Therapy” is one of those songs that is an example of that. Check it out. This is one of the catchier songs on the album and I like the beat.

I listened song by song and I really wanted to like the album. I did, that’s why I signed up for the review because I was excited about new music from Mary J., but I just didn’t love it.

This wasn’t my style but maybe it’s yours. If it is, you can find it on iTunes and Amazon:

 * iTunes : http://bit.ly/MJBLondon 
* Amazon: 
 http://bit.ly/MJBLS
https://members.one2onenetwork.com/embed/547fab9d2ac13b0e158bf4c2

2 thoughts on “New Music Wednesday

  1. I don’t know if it’s the way albums are marketed now or if I, simply, have been “out of the music game” for so long that, in the late 80’s/early 90’s, I seem to remember everybody pumping out Christmas albums . . . then, not so much. Now, though, they appear back. Anytime you have a mass change in music (I’m talking about the sudden move from rock to country, and the inception of hip-hop) you end up with a LOT of schlock . . . but some great stuff. This recent holiday album trend, I’m noticing the same — the good stuff? Trancendental. But most of it? Immensely forgettable. Even from the great artists.

What do YOU have to say?

