Friendsgiving

IMG_0434It’s that time again. Time to get together with friends (and family) to celebrate and give thanks for all of our blessings. My favorite holiday of the year. For us, we celebrate “Friendsgiving” because we don’t have family in town. Neither do our friends. So a group of families and our kids all get together to deep fry turkeys, play, have fun, watch football and enjoy each others’ time and company. It’s not blood family, but it’s a nice substitute for home.

This year we beat the turkey and got our Christmas tree up the weekend before Thanksgiving, despite our tradition of doing it the weekend after.  Maybe it was the hours of rain and thunderstorms on Saturday that put us in the mood, but it went up (whining and crying aside), and it was awesome. It looks beautiful.

****

For me, Thanksgiving isn’t just food and friends, it is a reminder of where I’ve been and how far I’ve come…

Three years ago (wow) was the beginning of my PPA/depression/anxiety journey. It all started with the need for the perfect family picture. Then being so worn that I couldn’t do anything but buy pies for Friendsgiving with our friends. If you know the overachiever that I am, that was a major defeat and a huge concession. Sounds trite, but when you’re trying to get by, you do what you can.

Then there was the next year. I was feeling good and baked. It was a little victory and I was thankful I wasn’t in the place I’d been. Funny way to measure progress. It worked.

Last year I was hanging on.

But, here we are today. And I’m kicking ass and taking names.  For that I’m thankful.

As I  look at all of the fixings for the 3 pies and loads of cupcakes I’ll make for Friendsgiving with 4 other families, I am thankful for where I’ve been (because I made it through the other side and I’m here speaking up about my struggle).  I’m grateful for how far I’ve come.

I’m thankful for my husband and girls.

I’m thankful for my dad and brother.

I’m thankful for my friends–especially my best girls that are my lifeline living in my computer (and phone).

I’m thankful for our blessings, including a job I enjoy.

I’m thankful for my incredible support network that’s been there all along the way.

****

On this Thanksgiving, I wish blessings to those that are alone. Those that need peace. Those that need love. Those that are sick and need healing. Those that celebrate holidays after losing loved ones.

****

HAPPY THANKSGIVING, friends. Hope you are truly blessed and have many things to be thankful for this week–and always.

3 thoughts on “Friendsgiving

  1. I’m a big believer that “family” is how you define it for yourself . . . so it’s always family for Thanksgiving, no matter who shows up. And, like you, this is my favorite holiday . . . it’s got all of the great stuff from Christmas (food, drink, friends, family, closeness) without the materialism (we won’t talk about Black Friday, though I will admit a fair bit of glee in the post-Thanksgiving annual “look through the store circular drooling” from a few family members).

    Happy Thanksgiving, Jess!

What do YOU have to say?

