My favorite things right now (and coconut oil)

I got a #VoxBox recently. If you don’t know what that is, it’s from Influenster and they send you free stuff to try with no expectation of anything back (win). Usually the boxes have a bunch of random stuff (last time tea was in my box) and it’s stuff I wouldn’t normally buy–like pinkish/red lipstick.  This time my box was awesome.

This NYC lip color (it’s super affordable and I like their nail polishes when I’m buying something for Ava) is actually pretty awesome. It doesn’t leave your lips feeling like they’re covered in goop and they don’t feel like the Sahara which would require lip balm on top.

So I decided to go bold because it’s a pretty stark difference from the neutrals I usually wear.  Ava was questioning it because she’s used to me looking bare.  But it stays on.  Taylor Swift does red and I think this is gonna be my signature. I don’t like half asleep. HOORAY!

I also got this Pure Ice nail polish. I’ll admit, I’m a nail polish snob. I only like OPI because I can paint my nails and not have to worry about bubbles.  But this stuff, wow. So impressed it looks like I actually got a manicure. HOORAY! Savings of $60-70 when you add in the pedi I didn’t pay for. Awesome.

Oh, and my bangs came back. I’m a bang cutter so don’t judge if they’re not exactly straight. Good enough and it was free. I didn’t need a haircut because I’m trying to grow it out. It works.

20140422-091812.jpg

*************

Then there’s the coconut oil.  I got all the comments when I posted about it. I bought this yesterday at the grocery store because I need something to start wearing down my foot scar. I hate it.  Everyone swears by this stuff so I’m jumping on the band wagon.  I’m even tempted to try it on pulling.

What is pulling you ask? You swish the coconut oil in your mouth for 20 minutes and it’s supposed to magically make your teeth whiter and better.  I just think doing anything for 20 minutes sounds incredibly painful, but it’s worth a shot.

Everyone said they use this as a moisturizer, face wash, hair conditioner, cooking oil. Everything.  Basically it’s magic. I’ll let you know how it goes.  I plan to carry that stuff everywhere and try to apply it to my scar as much as I can remember, which means no guarantees that I’ll actually use it. Maybe I need a reminder on my phone.

So yeah, that’s me right now.

I got this stuff for free but I wasn’t asked to review any of it. I just like to share my thoughts because that’s what I do. Especially when I like something. And I didn’t like the Vaseline spray lotion because it sucks and it’s not moisturizing at all.

9 thoughts on “My favorite things right now (and coconut oil)

  1. Yay on the coconut oil. I haven’t tried pulling, although I should. Coco oil is the BOMB for cooking. I’m signing up for influenster. I am a Bzz member but it’s becoming tiresome …

    YOU look hot in red lips and bangs!

  2. I have had NO LUCK cooking with coconut oil . . . it just doesn’t hold up to high temperatures – and I prefer the taste of olive oil if I’m sauteing over low temperatures (for high temp cooking, I’ve been using peanut oil), but I have noticed a considerable feeling of “full” with extra energy since I’ve been adding coconut oil to my morning coffee. I’ve tried pulling a time or two, but 20 minutes is a long-ass time when you’re trying to get ready in the morning & need to get the kids dressed and to preschool. In the research I’ve read, it absolutely can’t hurt – but some of the magical properties are much like the “Chinese foot pad” infomercials from back in the day — stuff that you can see that has easily explainable reasons.

      • My coffee is: 24 ounces of french-pressed coffee, 2 tablespoons of ghee (clarified butter, or butter that has been separated and only the fats remain) which act as cream, 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, 2 eggs, 1 scoop of protein powder, 2 tablespoons of maca root, 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar . . . I blend it all together — it tastes very much like an unflavored, unsweetened latte (no, it’s not greasy at all) – perhaps a tiny bit more bitter. Mind you, it’s 750 calories – but, when serving as my breakfast and pre-lunchtime-workout fuel, those are carefully planned & accepted calories.

What do YOU have to say?

