Not so Sleeping Beauty

photo 2

Sleep hasn’t been so very awesome in our house.  Allie moved to her big girl bed a few months ago and it was going fine. She’ll happily sleep through the night in her bed as long as you don’t shut her door. Except not.

Anyway, now we have time change and she tells me that it’s not sleep time because the sun is out. Yeah, sure kid. Thanks, farmers.  kidding, farmers grow the food I eat so I like them. 

It’s taking the girl forever to go to bed. I don’t particularly care if she sits up there and reads her books for 20 minutes. Fine. Just put yourself to sleep when you’re done. Which was working.  But then not so much.

We’ve tried moving bedtime back a bit to let her run off her energy. We bathe her nightly so she’ll be nice fresh and happy. Plus also, routine.  We’ve tried calming hippy stuff, no worky.  We’ve tried (and taken away for night potty training purposes) milk/water at bed.

In desperation my girl Shannon suggested that I try blocking the sunlight. Sure! That’s it! Hooray. Maybe that’ll get her moving to bed sooner. Or something.

photo 1 (1)

The last week she’s been waking up right around 10:30. I go in there, tell her to go back to bed and she does. No water, no milk, no touches.  

I know what you’re thinking, “Jess, why do you even bother?”

Oh friends, let me tell you. Because this girl may look cute and small and innocent, but oh she can scream and wake up every small creature in the neighborhood. She doesn’t mess around and if you wanna play chicken with her? She’ll win. I know, I’ve played for like an hour and a half and she doesn’t stop.  She’s boss at staying up–better than mom, for sure.

Honestly, the way she’s been waking up and the way she’s been during the day, I’m pretty positive that she’s either having bad dreams (sleep cycle) and/or she’s missing me. Either way, I feel bad for her. I really do.

We’ll get through this because it always passes. So no big, it’ll happen. Kids go through phases and it is what it is.

So yeah, in case you happen to be having the battle of the sleeps at your house, just wanted to share because you aren’t alone.

One thought on “Not so Sleeping Beauty

  1. I’m feeling this pain with you. In my case, little Skeeter is walking up in the middle of the night around 1:30 a.m. She army crawls into our bed while we’re both in deep sleep. I only wake up when I get punched or kicked in the head. I’m hoping that this phase passes soon.

What do YOU have to say?

