It’s all about Your own image

Not being able to run has taken its toll. Not only do I yearn to run as I pass the million people running in the beautiful spring sun, but like I said, it’s taken it’s till on me physically–particularly my waistline.

I’m not the best eater. I’m not going to adjust my diet a whole lot other than I’m trying to snack less out of boredom.

Let’s get real and I’m gonna be honest, because it’s not all sunshine and rainbows.

The bottom line is that I don’t love how I look right now. I still fit in my clothes (more snug, but still). I’m feeling fine. But I don’t like how I look. Vain, yes, totally. Let’s be real, we all care to some extent. I hate that I’m not in shape and I hate not being able to lace up and release whenever I want to.

As a mom, especially a girl mom, I hide how I feel. Healthy? Meh. But I don’t want my girls learning the words that can affect their own self image or how they view others.

The bottom line is that I want them to be healthy. I want them to know that however they look, it’s ok with me and everyone around them. I want them to know that it doesn’t matter what people think, but it does matter how they feel and whether they’re living a healthy life. “Fat” is not a word in our household vocabulary. Ever.

I want to be a role model but that’s so hypocritical and conflicting when you don’t practice what you preach. I tried to make an effort today and did yoga with them, even for just 20 minutes as I care for my foot and get back in shape. I take them on walks when we can and try to fit in fruit for good measure. I want them to lead active lifestyles in the age of the iPad. It’s so easy to sit on the couch with one or two screens in your face. It’s time to build the habits now, as much as they fight me on it.

At the end of the day, it’s about them. I want them to accept themselves and those around them. To know that no matter what, they’re beautiful inside and that’s what counts. Till then, I’m gonna work on practicing what I preach. Because that’s what grown ups should do. Right?

8 thoughts on “It’s all about Your own image

  1. I have a hard time with this as my little girl is getting older. It IS all about the inside and her self-esteem … but it’s also about not going back for seconds, and choosing fruit over marshmallows. Hard line to toe!

  2. Oh I hate that. I am very self conscious about how I look. I shouldn’t. I am on drugs that are notorious for weight gain and I can’t gain because of my bloody back problems so I measure portions sometimes. I’m not starving myself, I just don’t want to over eat and grow an ass the size of Texas yo. But my son caught me and I don’t want him to think that he has to do the same. Sigh…stupid bodies

  3. Hugs, Jess. I so get this. Hope that your foot recovers quickly. I hated the way I felt in my clothing last year. I love the release that running provides me. I am working diligently to prevent injury.

  4. Hi Jess, I found your blog through the FB grp, Austin, TX Moms Run This Town and wanted to say I deeply identify with what you wrote here. As a mom of two girls myself, I am very guarded when it comes to what I say about myself in front of them. I don’t say fat and I don’t talk about my weight. I try to model healthy behaviors at home but I’m also passionate about eating, cooking, and exploring restaurants so therein lies the struggle. It’s hard to strike a balance but all things in moderation right? I think as long as we practice self love and being gentle with ourselves. we can’t really go wrong.

    • Thanks so much for coming by and commenting, Justine. I’m definitely gonna be checking yours out today. Nice to find other locals who get get it 🙂

What do YOU have to say?

