Friendsgiving.

We moved to Austin 6 years ago. It’s crazy putting pen to paper on that number. Without a friend here and not knowing what to expect (other than the Sixth Street version we knew), we packed up for a new adventure and came here.

In those years, we’ve made incredible friends. For the last four years, we’ve celebrated friendsgiving. FYI I wish I could take credit for that word because it’s so perfect, but I stole it from Brandon. I’m sure he doesn’t mind.

What is Friendsgiving? It’s a chance for all us folks with families who are far far away to get together in our own adopted family. We make memories together each year and watch our babies grow. Since the beginning of Friendsgiving, there have been two new babies and one new family.

It was awesome watching all the little girls (not one boy!) running around playing together. We enjoyed lovely adult beverages and lots of grown up talk. We commiserated about our kids who don’t eat well and the beasts that they can be.

Oh but the food, I haven’t even gotten there. That’s the most delicious part of Friendsgiving. There is no turkey in the oven. Only men outside in the cabana watching football as they monitor the temp on the fryer. Yes, the fryer. You see, in Texas we do things a little differently.

Deep fried, to be exact. We’ve already begun planning what we can fry next year, in addition to the turkeys.

Oh the deliciousness. I probably ate a turkey’s worth of delicious deep fried turkey skin. Seriously, that sounds gross, but as we discussed yesterday, it’s like yummy bacon-like crispy goodness.

20131129-093933.jpg
Yes, I ate all of that. Then more sides. And dessert.

All the sides and desserts, oh my. Soph made my favorite corn casserole and green bean casserole (I could live on those sides). Cat made amazing cranberry sauce-no revolting plop sounds for a can here. And I made a ridiculous amount of dessert for four families: pumpkin pie, pecan pie, cupcakes, and red velvet cake. You know, in case we ran out.

My heart exploded when one of the little ones told me my pie looked better than the pie at HEB (local mega grocery store-I know that’s an oxymoron). Then she said it was the best she ever tasted. Triumph!

It was fun just watching football and vegging out while we listened to different cries of “no!” And “mama!!!” trying to determine which of the many kids yelling was calling.

There’s a lot to be said for friends. Especially when they become family.

On this day and every other, I’m so thankful. For my family, my adopted family (near and far), and all the blessings in my life.

One thought on “Friendsgiving.

What do YOU have to say?

