My 5 minute recap of the Country Music Awards {country music loving not required}

I had no intention of watching the CMAs this year. But then they were on and Jason Aldean was singing “Night Train” and I was sucked in. That man is an amazing live singer and I’m glad I got to see him live in concert this year.

So you don’t actually have to like country to get most of this because these are all big names you’ll recognize. So here’s the highlights.

*Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley are no longer cute or entertaining. This is not news. The writers on the CMAs should be fired. No one was funny. Nobody. She wore too much makeup (you were right, Rae), and her outfits were…questionable. What is this? Not country. Or stylish. Or flattering. Maybe her Elf on the Shelf got her those boots to match.

20131106-223320.jpg

click or source (Zap2it)

*I’ve gotta say, Taylor Swift looked flawless in her performance with Allison Krauss and Vince Gil. The performance was amazing. *update: just bought this version on itunes* Although I’m not sure what was up with Vince Gil and his plastic granny glasses. Taylor’s makeup and hair were gorgeous. She would’ve looked even more beautiful in a sheer dress from Reem Acra. Just saying.

Taylor Swift looked pretty

click for source (Hollywood Life by Bonnie Fuller)

*Speaking of Taylor, I used to think that She was the worst live music performer. Then Kenny Chesney (poor little guy). Oh I was wrong. By a lot. Hunter Hayes has managed to take worst live performer award. Maybe he just can’t walk and sing. Either way, Jason Mraz did him no favors singing win him.

*At least they sang. Florida Georgia Line, who I normally love and is on my running playlist, lip synced at the CMAs. Poorly. Really guys???? Also, that one singer looks like the guy from Creed.

*Apparently the Civil Wars are country. Who knew?

*Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert are the cutest couple in country music. So. Freaking. Cute. He sang along to her song while she performed with Keith Urban and lifted her off her feet when he won performer of the year.  I was so excited that Miranda won for best female vocalist. She deserves it because I totally wanted to be her after seeing her in concert. She’s in my top 3 concerts.

*Speaking of best female vocalist… Kacey Musgraves did not win. Come on, did she really think she had a shot against Queen Miranda? I should’ve screen shotted the look on her face when she got a shoutout from Miranda in her acceptance speech. It looked like this and You don’t make that face when Miranda Lambert gives you a shout out.

20131106-222214.jpg

Kacey=Grumpycat=Kristen Stewart

made by yours truly

But she did get best new artist. I was pretty surprised but happy for her since she’s so new on the scene. She does have an outstanding album and I’ve listened to it on repeat often. Girl, pay your dues. And smile.

But I think she was separated from her siblings at birth. I’m pretty sure she’s the Kristen Stewart of country music.

*Kenny Rogers is still awesome and so are George Strait and Alan Jackson. Rascal Flatts is still not.

In summary, buy the latest albums from the following artists:

  • Miranda Lambert
  • Blake Shelton
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan

And don’t forget Sons of Fathers–seriously, I’d put money on them being at some awards show next year for next new artist. They are amazing–and from Texas!
Enjoy. Man I miss watching shows like this.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

2 thoughts on “My 5 minute recap of the Country Music Awards {country music loving not required}

  1. No Luke Bryan for me. I cannot look a man straight in the face that uses the work boom boom in his song. I am upset that King George and Alan Jackson did not sing another George Jones song. I am a lover of the old country music, and the new stuff makes me sad. I crazy love Miranda, and I want her legs. I love some good Texas country music. Tim McGraw, really needs to eat a burger or two.

What do YOU have to say?

