It’s the little things.

Life is made up of little memories. Things that you don’t forget and you always remember about certain people. It’s not about extravagant events or vacations, but the moments when you’re there with the special people you love.

To this day, I remember a trip to Disneyland with my parents. I was probably about 7, and while I don’t really remember the trip, I remember the pouring rain and how they had to buy my brother and I Disney sweatshirts to keep warm. Mine was white and had Minnie Mouse, it matched perfectly with my white sailor hat with my name embroidered in yellow.

It’s the little things.

My girls and I went out this afternoon. We did some birthday shopping for some best friends and randomly decided to have dinner at a restaurant that always made me think of home. My mom. My dad.

We stopped at Luby’s and sat for dinner as we watched the Notre dame football game and laughed. We cheered on the Irish. 20131102-222143.jpgWe got home and went for a jog. Ava on her scooter, Allie in the stroller, me pounding pavement in my favorite Skoras with my pretty new laces. The chilly November air started to nip at us and we came home, relaxed and they were eager to go to bed–after candy and Gaspard & Lisa first, of course.

It’s the little things.

We didn’t go anywhere extraordinary. We didn’t spend a ton of money. We didn’t do anything particularly outstanding. But I knew that I had an amazing time and so did they because I saw it in their eyes.

Battling depression as a mom is hard. It’s not just about you. It’s about losing the you that is theirs. But days like this where the sun feels like it’s finally shining through are worth all the fighting through to keep trying whatever works to be better. Being able to give them these moments is priceless.

I’m so grateful for those little things. Those smells. Those trips. Those small talks and cozy moments. My mom. My dad.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

2 thoughts on “It’s the little things.

What do YOU have to say?

