Fashion Police: A PSA about Leggings.

Sassy Pants

Exhibit A: Sassy Pants are not Leggings.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Fashion Police post.  It’s not that there isn’t inspiration all around me, but I just hadn’t had much to say about it, I live in Austin and we’re all unique. Until this morning.

I love tight pants. I’m a big fan of skinnies. Especially colored skinnies because I don’t care who you are, if you wear them and sport some boots or some cute flats, those puppies are flattering! And they also make you look younger. Or sassier. TRIUMPH! (To quote my new favorite Disney show, Gaspard and Lisa)

During my morning routine, I happened to see a woman getting out of her car. Wearing leggings. The woman promptly adjusted her shirt, which was not long enough to cover her leggings, as she was bending over.  It was then that it was very apparent that her leggings were more sheer than she probably realized and her underwear were very visible through the shimmery “pants.”  She probably didn’t even know a) they shimmered, or b) they were see through.

CATASTROPHE! (also Gaspard and Lisa)

What do you do in a situation like that? Obviously I did nothing as I don’t know her.

But I can help you, my friends. Please don’t let people see your unmentionables–and also you’re setting the example for the future of tomorrow. Ok that was a bit dramatic.

Remember the old song in elementary school on the monkey bars:

“I see London,
I see France,
(but) I (don’t want to) see Friend’s underpants.”

Note to Self-Leggings Aren't Pants

Still unsure? Buzzfeed has provided you with an excellent flowchart (created by Amy Sly) for reference to determine whether you are wearing pants.

AmIWearingPants_web

7 thoughts on “Fashion Police: A PSA about Leggings.

What do YOU have to say?

