Why Pantene Beautiful Lengths Beats Locks of Love.

I’ve never kept anything from Ava about my mom’s cancer, the fact that she lost her hair, or the fact that the cancer took her from us.  I keep it all at an aerial level, but she understands what cancer is–after all, in kindergarten she lost a classmate to cancer and having to explain that to a kid is heartbreaking.

Image-1

The loss of my mom motivated me to try to raise awareness through prevention by pushing friends and family to see their doctors regularly. But it also made me want to raise money for incredible organizations that truly help those fighting the ultimate fight.

(More on the current fundraising project soon)

So, Ava got her hair cut really short in March and the plan was to donate it to Locks of Love.  After hearing from a friend (thanks T!) that Locks of Love SELLS hair and CHARGES for wigs, she recommended that I look into Pantene Beautiful Lengths.

It took me a while to send her beautiful, long ponytail, but when I did, she was ecstatic when she got this ‘thank you’ in the mail from Pantene yesterday–especially because she never expected anything in return.  She was so proud of herself and her pride made my heart explode.

****

I had never heard of the Pantene Beautiful Lengths program, but I was happy to learn that it is an actual partnership between Pantene and the American Cancer Society, the largest non-profit health organization committed to saving lives from every cancer and improving the quality of life for people facing the disease. So far, Pantene has donated 24,000 free real-hair wigs to the American Cancer Society’s wig banks, which distribute wigs to cancer patients across the country.

Why Pantene helps cancer patiens more than Locks of Love

I found this great comparison of Locks of Love and the Pantene Beautiful Lengths programs.  I had no idea that Locks of Love charges some of its recipients!  If you want a quick break down of what sold me about Pantene of Locks, here you go:

  • Pantene’s minimum donation requirement is 8 inches of hair to make a hairpiece.  This makes donating more realistic for many people. Most people don’t have 10 inches of hair to donate.
  • Locks of Love’s minimum is 10 inches but will accept shorter pieces and sell them to offset the manufacturing costs of the hairpieces.
  • Pantene’s wigs benefit women whose hair loss is attributed to cancer.  Locks for Love’s  wigs are sold to children under 21 with hair loss resulting from any array of factors. This is important to me because cancer is the reason I was inspired to help in the first place.
  • Pantene does not accept hair that is more than 5% gray.  Locks of Love accepts gray hair, which they also sell.
  • Pantene does not charge for the wigs, no matter what the recipient’s economic status. 
  • Locks of Love does not provide all of its hairpieces for free.  According to its website, prices for human-hair wigs are set on a sliding scale based on the recipient’s family income.  Cancer is expensive enough, the last thing a family should have to factor in is the cost of wigs (my mom’s were a couple hundred dollars EACH).

Source: Glamamom (my two cents are in italics)

I totally get it, everyone needs to offset costs and cover overhead. But seriously? Selling the hair?

If you’re interested in donating, here’s a link to Pantene’s instructions, including their mailing address.

This isn’t a sponsored post, I just want help to pass the word on if you or someone you know is thinking about donating their hair. I’m all about helping, no matter how, but if we can do more good for more people let’s do it.

9 thoughts on “Why Pantene Beautiful Lengths Beats Locks of Love.

  1. Great post!!! Can’t believe you remembered. Will be relocating and spreading this post around. Such a HUGE difference. So proud of Ava and love how happy this made her! xoxo

  2. Thanks for posting this! Ava is such a sweetheart to donate her hair, and you are amazing for helping to educate people on ways they can help cancer patients. As a hairstylist, I chop my share of ponytails for people who want to donate to locks of love. I will be pushing them to use Pantene beautiful lengths from now on!

  3. Locks of love charges?!!!! The fuck!!!! That is awful. I always thought that they gave them free. So they’re making money off of people’s hearts to help women in need. Son of a.
    I’m glad that there is this program. Holy hell. I love Ava by the way. She can rock any hair do

  4. I agree with the view that there are organizations that help far more than Locks of Love however I would like to ask anybody looking to donate elsewhere because they give wigs to children not suffering from cancer to research alopecia the other condition they give wigs for. Don’t use them but please consider using an organization that also helps with this disorder. It is an autoimmune disease that causes hair loss. It can be patchy or complete. Can be permanent in many cases and can affect children or adults at ANY age. I am not advocating alopecia hair loss over cancer hair loss In any way but it impacts self esteem and quality of life no matter the cause.
    http://childrensalopeciaproject.org
    http://www.wigsforkids.org
    http://www.cancer.org/myacs/california/areahighlights/wigshairdonation
    http://www.stbaldricks.org/blog/post/donate-your-hair-in-5-easy-steps/
    http://www.childrenwithhairloss.us/donate-your-hair/

What do YOU have to say?

