Divine intervention {funny the way it is}

I wrote yesterday’s post maybe an hour and a half before I went to church. It was almost comical and I literally wanted to laugh out loud when the first few sentences of Sunday’s reading came out of the lector’s mouth:

Hebrews: Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence* of things not seen.

Yeah…got that loud and clear, thanks God–joke’s on me. It was pretty much exactly what I had just written about. The struggle I had just put in words for other’s to read (for better or worse).

I sat in awe as I listened to the readings and then to the priest who made me laugh and said pretty much EVERYTHING that I’ve needed to hear for a while.

He was a regular person. He wasn’t holier than thou. He didn’t talk about how we suck and we need to just get our crap together because that’s the way Catholics should behave so we don’t make God mad.

He talked about how he puts on his face to deal with the grouchiness of life. He talked about believing. He talked about how someone made him angry but really he took it as an opportunity to see himself from a different light. Obviously we don’t want to look at ourselves in the negative, but sometimes it’s a necessary evil to being realistic about who we truly are. Does that mean that it’s awesome to be told we suck or that people say bad things about us that may or may not have a shred of truth? Nope.

I took notes. Seriously, I’m that Type A person and also I forget everything about 2 seconds after I hear it so I had to. I stole Allie’s notepad and crayons that I had packed and started writing, wishing I’d brought an actual notepad and pen intending to take notes–I never would have expected this. In all my 33 years, I’ve never seen anyone at a Catholic mass taking notes. The ritual includes showing up, listen and repeat, hurry up and leave.

20130811-222122.jpg Do I believe that I have answers now and I’m totally back at home? Nope, I sure don’t and I still don’t believe that there is some grand plan. I do know that we missed church in the morning at the place we had been going and opted to go to evening mass at the local church we’d abandoned because I felt out of place. Coincidence? Dum dum duuuummmmm. Kidding.

We left church and saw that beautiful sky (I’m the weirdo who loves clouds and rain more than sun and heat) on our way home followed by a brief rain that was desperately needed.

We’ll definitely be back next Sunday. Hopefully that REAL priest will be there with more words of wisdom. And this time I’ll be ready, notepad in hand.

4 thoughts on “Divine intervention {funny the way it is}

What do YOU have to say?

