Runspired. See Jess run.

I did it.

I ran the half marathon. I knew I would finish, I had to, but knowing and thinking you’ll do something and actually doing it are two entirely different things.

I went to bed early Friday night because the race was early Saturday morning. I had to be out the door before 5:00 for the drive and it had stormed a good chunk of the night. Hello, tired.

I got there in my half awake splendor and tried to get in the zone. Unlike most races where there are hundreds (or thousands) of people, there were maybe a group of 30 of us. There were no crowds, there was no fancy send off. It was all about the run.

I headed out with my friend and so it began. What was I thinking??? The reality of running 13 miles slapped me hard across the face as we got into the third mile and I realized I was barely 1/4 of the way there. Crap.

Thanks to the storms, it was cool and overcast. But it was also humid. Ridiculously humid. Ring the sweat out of my shorts with my swollen sausage fingers, humid.

The area was gorgeous. I’d never run through there and running past a creek and baby deer is kind of inspiring and zen like. Any distraction from the fact that this would only be HALF the distance I’ll run in a few months from now. I couldn’t think about that because it terrified me.

Two hours and 47 minutes after heading out, it was done. I wasn’t fast. I was 30 minutes slower than my last half, but I did it.

Runners are crazy. I thought about running the next day but was just too tired (real tired, not race tired). There’s something about knowing you can push your body that makes you want to keep going. I ran yesterday and even though I felt slow, I managed to run 3 miles without walking once. It was kinda awesome.

Runspired.

I was “runspired” knowing that I could finish and knowing that my fear about the race (which was actually misplaced fear about the marathon) was unnecessary. I’ll probably never qualify for Boston. I’m ok with that. I just need to know that I can finish. At the end of the day, that’s what it comes down to. Getting the miles done, raising the money to beat cancer for MD Anderson, and showing my girls that mom is kind of a bad ass. 20130730-121702.jpg

8 thoughts on “Runspired. See Jess run.

  1. Congrats on your half marathon lady! That takes guts to go out there and run despite the knowledge that you didn’t train quite enough. 🙂

What do YOU have to say?

