Confession: Jess is a Mess.

HAHA. Shut it. But yes, oh how many meanings could that have. For today’s post, let’s focus on the meaning of mess as it relates to keeping things tidy and organized, as in, my house is a mess. What’s my definition of a mess? I have a sink full of dishes and piles of laundry to be folded. The recycling bin is full and so is the hamper. The toilets could probably use scrubbing and I only vacuumed once this week. GASP! The horror! Rat’s nest!

Whatever. It’s not.

What’s better is, IT’S OK.

At the beginning of last school year I was all bright eyed and naive and thought I would just stay on top of the house stuff by doing dishes after dinner. If I just tossed a couple of dishes in the dishwasher or scrubbed a couple pots I could stay on top of things.

If I just prepare my lunch in advance, I won’t have to deal with it in the morning.

If I just.

If I just.

If I just, screw it.

It’s not that I don’t have the help. I have an able bodied husband and child that are more than happy to help, well after Ava has paused her show on the DVR. But I’d rather we just sit than worry about the mess. Seriously, who’s coming for dinner (or breakfast), the Queen of England? John Mayer? George W. Bush? NOPE. So why the stress?

There is no reason to keep your home immaculate. Unless you’re trying to sell it and we’re not. Or you have absolutely nothing to do and no kids in the house and you enjoy scrubbing things and dusting.

someecards.com - My house isn't messy. It's custom designed by a 3 year old.

this, but one’s 2 and one’s 7. (click for link)

To be clear, we don’t live in a pigsty. There’s a difference between living in a clean home and a disgusting dirty hoarder hell hole. Our house is clean, but it is messy.

I have two kids and those two kids have Jenga pieces and blocks they use for building, dolls and balls, crayons and artwork strewn around the living room, and sippy cups everywhere. Why? Because they’re kids and that’s where we live as a family. I’m not going to banish them and their crap upstairs because then I’d never see them!

I mean honestly, when we visit other people’s homes they are prepared and have put their best carpet forward. If you popped into someone’s house on a random Tuesday night, would you find everything as lovely as it was on that visit? Probably not. We’re human. We live lives and those get in the way of chores–particularly when you both work full time and shuttle kids around.

So for now, I am Jess. My house is sometimes a mess; but it isn’t dirty. Unless I get a free day off work each week without kids for a few hours, I don’t see much changing.

And for the record, unless it’s Sunday when I try to do all the things, the only thing I really pack at night to avoid messing with in the morning is my running bag. Priorities, people–running is free therapy and it makes Jess less of a mess.

10 thoughts on “Confession: Jess is a Mess.

  1. My house is custom designed by a 4,7, and 9 year old. With summer here I have been trying my best to keep it clean with doing a little bit here and there every day. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. I am one of those psychos that rarely makes her bed, but all the floorboards are spotless.

    • Yup I try to pick stuff up after they go to bed just so I won’t be slipping on papers or blocks. If I have them do it it takes about 45 hours because they play along the way. We NEVER make the bed. And um, we have dust rabbits. Not even just bunnies.

  2. put their best carpet forward… hahaha!

    dude, I was so proud, we vacuumed AND did the dishes last night. oh and I did a load of laundry. Overachievers, here! (NOT)

    • Clearly overachievers. I’ve been doing laundry every night. And mostly I get dishes thrown in the dishwasher and yet there’s STILL dishes in the sink. It’s like we’re a family of 80!

  3. It’s totally OK! Good for you. I take after Monica from Friends and clean for relaxation. So, I’m weird. And that’s OK, too. (Right?) πŸ˜‰

What do YOU have to say?

