Music is Life. {Target Giveaway!} #SeHablaMusica (CLOSED)

full disclosure: I am being compensated with a gift card from Target to check out new Latin music and for telling you about how I find music.
they didn’t ask me to talk about them at all and they even offered me a gift card to give to one of y’all! my opinions are my own–you know I’m all about the straight talk.

********

I live for music. I love it. Moving to Austin totally got me hooked (especially live music). Depending on my mood, what I’m listening to varies. But I always have to have music on in the background while I work. Or Mean Girls, but that’s another story for another day.

It’s probably not a secret that I’ve been running lately. When I run, I HAVE to have music in my headphones pushing me along the way. I need to have something fun and you’d probably be surprised at the stuff that I listen to. Actually, you’d probably laugh.

Despite my love for all things John Mayer, he’s not my pick for running music–unless I’m super anxious and I’m out to run and relax. In that case, then that’s the ticket. Lately, I’ve been all about Jason Aldean and Jake Owen. I saw them in concert this month and they were ah-maze-face. They’re country, in case you didn’t know.

And then there’s my gangsta side. For some reason…I like to listen to stuff like DJ Khaled, Soulja Boy, Ke$ha and Snoop Dogg when I run. I have no idea why.

Here’s another random tidbit about me and my music tastes: my senior year of high school nearly all I listened to was Spanish music. Fey, Enrique Iglesias, Selena. I even watched Mexican novelas (soap operas). My favorite was Maria la del Barrio–starring Thalia, a Latin pop all star. For the last 10 years, my favorite pop Latino artist is Juanes. Sadly, moving from El Paso cost me my Spanish skills because who am I going to talk to in Dallas or Austin in Spanish? Want to learn Spanish? Work at the mall on the border. Skills people. Real life lessons.

Anyway, normally my go to for new music is Amazon and the iTunes top charts. I never listen to the radio. If I do, it’s country and I own pretty much everything that’s on the radio, so that defeats the purpose. When I start looking for music on Amazon (which is totally cheaper than iTunes), I start buying and then I can’t stop. I start listening to tons of new stuff and then the next artist and before I know it, I’ve bought 4 new albums. I don’t binge on music often, but when I do, I go big.

Except when it comes to Latin Pop. I knew Marc Anthony had a new album out and remembered how much Allie loved listening to mariachi music (and Selena) when we were in El Paso. Maybe I could find us something to listen to in the car besides Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

FAIL. Why? Because the Amazon Latin Pop charts look like this:

1) Hips Don’t Lie-Shakira (2006!)

3) I Like It-Enrique Iglesias (2010)

4) Tonight I’m Lovin’ You-Enrique Iglesias (2010)

ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Three of the top 5 songs are in English. And they aren’t even songs that came out in the last 3 years. Just because someone Latino sings something doesn’t make the song Latin Pop. I was literally pissed and shut Amazon down when I was trying to find new stuff. Amazon doesn’t even have the most current Billboard Latin Music CD.

se habla mΓΊsica, target latin music, latin billboard awards, target latin billboard awards

Content and/or other value provided by our partner, Target.

Only Target did. I was a little surprised, to say the least–both that Target had it and that no one else did. I’m really glad that I heard about #SeHablaMusica because now I can actually listen to a bunch of great new songs, including artists I’ve never heard of, and they’re actually in Spanish. GASP! The idea that Latin music is actually in Spanish? I know I ask for a lot.

Needless to say, I haven’t found many new artists. Total bummer.

So if you’ve got a favorite Latin pop artist I need to know, tell me please!

Want some new music (or anything else from Target)? Enter now for your chance to win a $25 Target gift card!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

32 thoughts on “Music is Life. {Target Giveaway!} #SeHablaMusica (CLOSED)

  1. Hey! Remember when I was the one that told you about Mariachi El Bronx when they opened for Foo Fighters? πŸ™‚

  2. I like country! My favorites are darius rucker, lady antebellum, and miranda lambert

  3. I like all types of music mainly upbeat music like pop. However, my favorite band is Life House.

  4. Oh my favorite is the Goo Goo Dolls πŸ™‚ But, I love just about anything….just love music~

  5. My favorite kind of music is very eclectic. But some of my favorites are Juanes for Latin and Black Eyed Peas (Will.i.am) for R&B.

    Diana C

  6. Pingback: Dear Target Fairy or Santa: I want… « Jess in the ATX.

Comments are closed.