Goal Update! {and oatmeal recipe}

Friends, you won’t believe this but my goals are coming along quite swimmingly.  I’ve started running again (YAY!!!!) and I’ve even taken on the 100 push up challenge.  I bought the app and am impressed I’ve gone from grunting out 2 push ups to being able to do 6 in one set.  I had no idea the core power and overall body strength needed for push ups. I’m glad I started.

So you’ll remember that I made a goal to “Oh, and eat out a lot less at work.”  Then it turned into a “pledge” not to eat out at all.  If you know me, you know that I love food. I can finish breakfast and start thinking about my afternoon snack or what I’m making for dinner.

I have yet to eat out.  Ok, well technically I did eat out because we went to a birthday party and lunch was served at California Pizza Kitchen so I had a couple slices.  But when we went to Starbucks AND Chick Fil A earlier this month, I did not have a single thing. GO ME!!!  I’ve been packing my lunch daily and have even resisted on weekends.

oatmeal

I’ve been going to town for breakfast every morning on my crock pot oatmeal (<<original recipe from The Yummy Life).  There you go, KT!

And because I’m a stickler for people that “adapt recipes” by changing like 1 ingredient and the recipe name, I won’t do that and I have to give that site the full credit. Seriously go check out her blog. Good stuff on there with way better pictures than mine.

I do my oatmeal just a bit differently because 1) I’m lazy, 2) I’m impatient, and 3) I usually don’t have that many ingredients on hand.  I also like mine a bit more watery.

The key is to be sure you use steel cut oats.  If you didn’t know what they look like, there you go.  I also LOVE Mexican vanilla. I don’t know what makes it so awesome, but when I go to El Paso I stock up with at least 5 bottles.  There’s something about the flavor that makes it better than straight up vanilla. You can probably find it in your “Ethnic/Hispanic” section. I hate that aisle name. 

Anyway, once you add the Mexican vanilla and the raisins, this is so delicious it reminds me of my Grandpa’s rice pudding.  When your healthy breakfast starts tasting like dessert, I call that a win!

Original Recipe at: The Yummy Life.

 

Crock Pot Apple Oatmeal

Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 2 hours
Total time: 2 hours 10 mins
Serves: 5
Ingredients
  • 1 cup of Steel Cut Oats (do NOT use rolled oats)
  • 1 3/4 cups of water
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of soy or almond milk
  • 2 diced apples (Gala taste great and add sweetness)
  • 1 heaping teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp of butter sliced (you don’t need it, but I love me some butter y’all-Paula Deen FTW!)
  • 3 tbsp of brown sugar OR 2 tbsp of honey
  • Raisins or almonds, if desired
Instructions
  1. Turn your crockpot to high and toss in your ingredients. Stir them up and stay close. Despite what most websites say, crockpot oatmeal does NOT take anywhere near 5 hours and it definitely doesn’t take overnight.
  2. Cook the oatmeal for about 1 1/2 hours on high and 30 more minutes on low, being sure to stir occasionally.
  3. When it’s done, serve it into glass bowls (or microwave safe containers). Let the oatmeal sit for about 30 minutes to cool, then add about 2 tablespoons of milk and raisins, if you like them.
  4. Store in the fridge and just microwave for 2- 2:30 minutes and enjoy!

 

8 thoughts on “Goal Update! {and oatmeal recipe}

  1. So impressed you have not eaten out! No way I could give that up… doesn’t it feel good to run again? So jealous you are outside doing it since the wind chill is -15 here today.

  2. I do believe that going to a Starbucks and not having a single thing is one of the miracles that puts you on the fast-track to sainthood. Damn, that’s more perseverance than I have.

    I’m torn by the 100 pushup challenge. See, I have a surgically repaired elbow – and my doctor is very down to earth: “if it feels like you’re doing something that might be hurting it, don’t do it.” A few years ago, when I was in truly pitiful shape, I, simply, couldn’t do a pushup, at all. Basically, I was tall, and fat, and not very strong. But, I’ve been working, and I’m up to 20-some at a time . . . but I’m quitting at that point in equal parts because my arms/shoulders are on fire and my elbow feels that it’s about quitting time. Part of me wants to try to push through – I mean, I got through the “0 pushup” time, but I don’t know.

    Report back in, regularly – I’d love to know a 100-pushup-er!

    • Well the technical way it works is you do sets of reps. So 5, 4, 4, 6, that type of deal. I can’t imagine ever doing more than 15-20 per set. Crazy talk! I’m thinking you should stay away from the app…no sense harming the elbow.

  3. So, do I need one of those tiny crockpots?

    Also, that’s a lot of ingredients to put with just 1 cup of oats. Are you sure this still qualifies as breakfast?

    And, way to go! You did better at January than I did!

  4. true story… I used to be able to do way more than 100 push-ups at a time… I was in gymnastics… crazy arm strength… I still have crazy strong arms for a 33 year old female… no jiggly makes me happy, love muscle memory 😉

What do YOU have to say?

