Goals. Words. Blahblahblah.

I don’t do resolutions. I’ve said that before.  Just like holidays are stupid because you don’t need a day to do something and feel something you should all year.  Call me the Grinch.

Anyway, resolutions are just a reminder that you’ve failed and why do you need the start of the year before you can work out? Lame. BUT, I will say there’s something about the 1/1 on the calendar that just makes you feel all fresh and hopeful. Or maybe it’s all the other saps all around you be all inspirational by saying how they’re joining a gym (man I hated those guys  when I used to go to the gym-stupid new gym people), or how they’re going to read 100 books this year. Pessimist much?

i’m a runner.

Either way, it’s January 2, 2013 and it’s time to shake it up. Here are the things I want to do this year.

  1. Start running again. I swear this is a damn broken record.  I did run yesterday and was pretty proud of it.  Then I had to climb up and down the stairs about 1000 times and I remembered why I am not the world’s best runner.  Screw it.
  2. Start doing yoga. Because if I am all stretchy and my muscles work, then maybe my knees won’t be such jerks and I can do #1 above.
  3. Eat better.  Oh, the New Year’s Day we had.  I might tell you about that later, but holy cow.  If there was ever a motivation to get better about eating, that was it. ALL of us. And also we need to eat at the table. It’s kind of awesome.  Oh, and eat out a lot less at work.
  4. Me time. I’m usually a fail at that because for some stupid reason I have guilt about giving myself 2 seconds in the day despite devoting 23 hours, 59 minutes and 58 seconds to everyone else.  I’m already on this one. I’M GOING TO BLISSDOM (a blogging conference in Dallas)! I bought my ticket.  Going to a blog conference has always been talk but this time I put my money where my mouth was (literally).  Definitely more on this later.
  5. Be more punctual.
  6. Take pride in how I look. Look good, feel good. Maybe I buy myself a piece of clothing each month. (See above about guilt and realize why I don’t.)
  7. Go to church more.  I take Ava to Sunday school each week but then the aspirations of going to church as a family after quickly faded as tiredness set in.
  8. Read more. There’s no excuse when you can read on your phone and books are free from the library and Amazon.

So there’s my words and big talk for the year.  None of them really measurable so really the amount of success is up to me.  Which also means I really can’t fail. YAY for setting your sights low! Kidding. A bit.

6 thoughts on “Goals. Words. Blahblahblah.

    • Well shit. I was going to be uber impressed about the 100 book thing. My first step needs to be going to the library to get my card unfrozen…

  1. I’M SO PROUD OF YOU for getting back to running.I just started back up…mostly running on the track at the middle school down the street, but sometimes with the Alex in the stroller. We’re doing the Cap 10k in April right?

    I think the rest of your goals are reasonable and doable. Great list.

  2. Pingback: Goal Update! {and oatmeal recipe} « Jess in the ATX.

What do YOU have to say?

