Who needs A best friend?

I’m tired.

Exhaustion makes you slightly…irrational sometimes.  Dramatic, perhaps may be a better word.  Or delusional?  I’m not sure.  Either way, not sleeping through the night will jack you up. It will also cause you to spend your children’s college fund at Starbucks, but that’s another story. 

It’s been a long week. I’m tired.

But I made it. It’s Friday. And it’s good. Now.

she has discovered the awesome of yoga pants. job done.

I spent the afternoon with the girls just wandering the mall. We found this great shirt.  Sigh. I had to have it.  I even bought one for Ava even though it was a 5T.  It didn’t matter. I don’t care if she wears it as a tank top.  When I saw it, it took my breath away–luckily I didn’t start crying.  She knew.  She said, “I wondered why you had gasped, but then I saw the shirt.”  Damn that girl is amazing.  She said we immediately had to find that shirt.  I love her.

This morning?  I was a bit…frazzled.

Thank God for good friends who turned my day around.  Seriously.

Down the hall, next door, by text  message across town, and in my computer 1,361 miles away.

Yall, thank you.  You put up with my silliness.  You didn’t patronize me.  You listened.  You reexplained when I didn’t quite hear.  And you calmed the nerves.   Also, you helped my kid get her birthday party squared away, but again, another story of awesome.

I love my friends.  All of them.  I’m very lucky.

I used to focus on the fact that I didn’t have a BEST FRIEND.  Like in Bride Wars.  I didn’t have that. I never have.  I bawled my eyes out when I left that movie.  Not the kind of reaction that chick flick should have elicited.

But I’ve learned as I grow up, that I have better than that. Much more.  I have love that is always there when I need it.  And I am there when I’m needed.  My best friend lives 2 time zones away in Phoenix, but we always pick up where we left off, even when life gets in the way.  All of my wonderful, beautiful friends are amazing. The great women in my life (and B) all bring something different that makes me different. And I love it.

THANK YOU.

3 thoughts on “Who needs A best friend?

What do YOU have to say?

