Cardboard Box Diet {week 3}

So I’m still trying to hang in the Cardboard Box Diet. Really only because it’s not a diet in the true sense of the word but it does make me more conscious of my eating habits. Lauren is a genius.

  • Weigh-in: Who knows.
  • Exercise completed: Well I did walk about 8500 miles at Disney World mostly wearing a baby. Surely that counted for something. I also took 11 flights of stairs up to my office and didn’t pass out. PT starts next week so running will be in my future.
  • Splurge/Guilty Pleasure: Eating well at Disney is impossible. Pretty much the only thing to eat was hamburgers and chicken nuggets. But I didn’t snack all day or even get one turkey leg. I can’t decide if that’s a win.
  • Success story:I’ve been making better choices. I’ve been bringing my breakfast and lunch daily. I’ve been trying to drink more water and bring healthy snacks. The one day I did eat out, I got a salad! Granted it was covered in chicken salad and cheese but baby steps.
  • 20120830-080803.jpg

  • Recipes/photos: I haven’t been having as much Starbucks. I’ve been making coffee at the office. Toss it over ice with fat free creamer? Yum. Ive also cooked every meal since getting back from vacation. It’s refreshing after the constant eating out. I baked some chicken and potatoes with a whole wheat bread the other night. Win.

    Butter garlic chicken
    Throw 3 frozen chicken breasts in a corningware baking dish that has been greased with olive oil. Season to your liking. I used season all, garlic salt and lots of pepper. Put a bit of butter on each breast and just toss in the oven at 325 for about 45 minutes (ish).

    Adam potatoes (named for a friend who made them first-the name stuck)
    Slice potatoes into 1/4 inch slices. Leave skins on. Toss in a plastic bag with olive oil and your favorite spices. I used the same as above. Lay them flat on a parchment paper lined baking dish. This keeps them from sticking. Cover with foil. Bake the same as the chicken. You can top them with cheese or butter while baking. Also tasty? Serve covered with sour cream. If you use low fat it isn’t as bad as it sounds.

  • Advertisements

    8 thoughts on “Cardboard Box Diet {week 3}

    1. Hopefully all your walking at Disney helped cancel out all the “super healthy” food they have for you there! I smiled when I saw you mention the turkey leg…that is one thing that is strangely memorable about Disney to me šŸ™‚ Good for you bringing the breakfast and lunch…I’m awful at lunches. Awful!

      • Thank you! Honestly I probably should have gotten a turkey leg but walking with a baby on my hip I didn’t want to drip turkey juice all over her šŸ˜‰

    2. I need to get back on the packing-a-lunch-for-myself bandwagon. Next week I have to start doing it again for Brian. Perhaps that will motivate me. Or not. We’ll see.

    3. We were at Disney World last year with the grandchildren … I have no recollection of food. LOL I’m not THAT old but I remember nothing about it. I do remember the heat and humidity and losing a ton of sweat.

      I would say walking 8500 miles with a baby attached qualifies as “serious exercise.” šŸ˜‰

      • Isn’t the heat and humidity so stifling? It’s crazy! The food was nothing to write home about but I definitely felt in shape when I got home!

    4. Good job with making better choices! I think that was my biggest hurdle — I’m still not perfect at it (obviously), but I think that’s what will make this different than other fad diets. We’ll lose weight AND develop healthy lifestyle changes we can take with us for the next 50 years. šŸ™‚

      Can’t wait to read your post tomorrow!

    What do YOU have to say?

