To Each His Own.

warning: these are my beliefs on the chick fil a stuff and free speech. if you don’t like it, just x out of the window. we are all entitled to our opinions.

I didn’t do so hot in constitutional law during my first year of law school.  Ok, fine, I got a C (that’s super bad in law school).  It was totally interesting, but gah. That class.  But I do know the fundamental basics of free speech. I know that courts have permitted lots of opinions. Even shitty ones that people disagree with (like those jerks that protest at funerals).

Being able to have your opinions and make them known is all part of the privilege of living in the US. Those are our rights.  There is no caveat that says that you don’t get to share your opinions if you have stupid ones.

Chick Fil A is in the news because of the owner’s position on gay marriage. It’s no secret that Chick Fil A is a Christian owned company. They don’t open Sundays.* Can you imagine how much money they could be making off families wandering the mall on Sunday? But they don’t care, they have taken a stand and that works for them.  I once went to a Chick Fil A in Abilene, Texas (Bible belt) and they were  playing Christian music.  Odd, but whatever. It was pleasant and the workers were nice and the food was good.

(*Hobby Lobby isn’t open on Sundays either, same reasons)

Do I agree with the owner on his position about gay marriage? Nope.

Am I a Christian? Sure am. Catholic even (and you know how THEY feel about it).

Do I support gay marriage? 150% most definitely I sure do.  I was lucky enough to be invited to watch two of my closest friends get married in Boston.  They just celebrated their 2 year wedding anniversary.

I have many people in my life who are gay. They are some of the people that I hold nearest and dearest to my heart. They’re some of the few people that truly care about me and my family, and no matter what they are there for me and I’d trust them with my life.

Chick Fil A is entitled to its opinion. And you know what? I admire the owner’s bravery to stand by his opinion.  The owner feels a certain way and he is standing by those beliefs in his faith, at the risk of his business.

The thing is, he hasn’t even been hateful about it. To be fair, he just explained his interpretation of the Bible. He never said anyone would burn in hell. He never said that Jesus hates anyone.  Unlike many politicians, he has never flip flopped or wavered.  He has always felt that way–so why is this news now?

Where I think it gets messy is cities choosing to ban them for their free speech.  Did you know that Boston and Chicago have said that Chick Fil A can no longer open in their cities?  Despite plans that were already underway.  Really?  How is that even possible? You won’t allow free enterprise because you disagree with someone?  You won’t allow the creation of jobs and money  into your economy because you don’t like what they have to say. How American is that?  I guess it is because you can do what you want, but the government shouldn’t take that stand.

If Chick Fil A practiced discrimination against individuals because of their sexual orientation or beliefs, THEN I’d have a problem with them. But they don’t.  Think about it, has anyone EVER been rude to you at Chick Fil A? Ever gotten the attitude you get from a McDonald’s employee? NOPE.

If people were to know the true fundamentals and beliefs of a lot of business owners or corporate principles they’d probably be very sorely disappointed.  A lot of businesses (and people) would be boycotted.  Your Facebook friend list would probably be cut in half.  Kidding.  Sort of.

Tons of people still shop at Walmart/Sam’s despite the fact that they treat their employees like garbage.  If we banned everyone or every thing that we disagreed with, we would live in a very boring and limited vanilla world.  How would anyone be exposed to different opinions (good or bad)?

So why are we so hostile to Chick Fil A?

I get it. I totally do.  I don’t agree with the owner’s position on gay marriage.  But that doesn’t mean I will stop eating there.  Do you honestly think that someone who firmly believes in something will change their position because people are hostile toward that belief?  Then we’d all be a bunch of cowards.

So just rock on with your bad self and live the life that you need to live.  And leave everyone else to live theirs. Amen, end of story, peace out.

pic from: Crazy Mama

9 thoughts on “To Each His Own.

  1. Seriously, I could not agree with you more!!! I may even have to plug your blog on this one because I feel so strongly the same exact way! Another point is – I don’t agree with HALF THE CELEBS out there on half their crazy views but that doesn’t mean I boycott their movies or click their songs off of the radio! I think this has completely been blown out of proportion!

    • EXACTLY. So many celebs have opinions on this and that and they choose to live their lives in crazy ways (drugs, alcohol, who knows what else) but people still follow/watch/love them. Why aren’t they held to the same standards if not more so? For better or worse, they are very visible role models in lots of people’s lives.

  2. Seriously, I could not agree with you more!!! I may even have to plug your blog on this one because I feel so strongly the same exact way! Another point is – I don’t agree with HALF THE CELEBS out there on half their crazy views but that doesn’t mean I boycott their movies or click their songs off of the radio! I think this has completely been blown out of proportion!

  3. While I don’t agree with any municipality treating any business differently, I think there’s something fundamental here, and the outrage against Chik-Fil-A, I believe, is justified.

    What if it was discovered that the owner of Joe’s Diner was funding a group to repeal the 19th Amendment (guaranteeing women’s suffrage)? His actions are fully legal, yet I’d chose to never eat at Joe’s Diner, and if anyone ever invited me to head to Joe’s Diner, I’d say “I’m sorry, but because of the owner’s stance about women’s rights, I’ve chosen to not spend my money there.”

    And, I’d likely tweet stuff like “just so you know, spending your money at Joe’s Diner may end up aiding a repeal of the amendment for women’s right to vote.”

    Right now, frankly, is a slow news time, so this is getting a lot of attention (especially with the Henson company’s decision to not partner with Chik-Fil-A, which wasn’t really newsworthy – it would be like me saying that I won’t supply toys for McDonalds happy meals – who cares?). But the Olympic opening ceremonies are tonight, so the news outlets will have entirely new things to talk about tomorrow.

    • You’re absolutely right. This was a slow news thing that garnered a lot of attention. It’s been in the news for a while, but it just hadn’t gotten the press. I’ve definitely talked with a lot of people on both sides (some disgustingly in favor of what Chick Fil A’s owner believes, but to an extreme and beyond what I ever could agree with) and I think at the end of the day it’s definitely one of those agree to disagree things and let’s all respect each other’s opinions. I appreciate your thoughts!

  4. Okay, i’ve read your post, twice. You have some VERY VERY valid points. I’d like to just share my stance coming from a completely different place and position.

    I live in Los Angeles, CA. i did not grow up with Chick Fil A. I was introduced to it 2 years ago when in Georgia and fell in love with it.

    Until I came home and found out that they are extremely anti-semetic. THEY DO NOT HIRE JEWISH people. Today, in 2012. I cannot be okay with that. I stayed quiet. I just choose not to spend my money there. I don’t have one near me so it hasn’t been an issue, but when I do have the choice again, I won’t be giving them my money. I’m Jewish. If I am not good enough to work in their stores should I want to, Why should I wish to spend my hard earned money there??

    That being said, I also do not support Wal-Mart since seeing the documentary on how they treat employees and big enterprise. I stand by what I say and how I feel. I don’t jump on bandwagons, I research the information and make my decisions. I often pass it along since many don’t always know, but I don’t feel that everyone has to agree with my opinion or stance.

    Do I think a whole state should be able to tell them they cannot go into their cities?? No, that seems a tad extreme.
    Do I think my friends should all stop eating there because I have? I don’t.

    But, I’ve concluded in the past year or two when this topic has popped up over other subjects, that I think when you grow up a minority, whether that’s Jewish, Black, Gay, Hispanic or any other race you have a very very high sensitivity to this sort of thing. It’s hard enough to be different and not observe the same holidays & traditions and feel like an outsider regularly, I’ve been doing it for 37 years and I love my religion and my traditions but it’s not easy being different. That’s all. 🙂 – Traci xoxo

  5. Everyone is entitled to their beliefs, but although the owner of CFA doesn’t come out and say that he believes that gay people will burn in hell, he is giving tons of money to groups like Exodus International, a group that tries to help “pray the gay away.” He has also given money to the Family Research Council, a group that has said that gay men molest children at a much higher rate than heterosexuals (completely false) and that gay people are mentally ill “simply because homosexuality makes them that way.”

    So, yes he is entitled to his position, but where he is putting his money is quite telling regarding what he truly feels.

What do YOU have to say?

