Christmas at “Home”.

This post is sponsored by Tempur-Pedic, the brand millions of owners trust to deliver their best night’s sleep every night. Enjoy our Buy 2, get 1 free pillow offer now and give the gift of custom comfort to someone you love.

Thank you Tempur-Pedic & Clever Girls Collective for giving me this opportunity to write about something so near and dear to my heart.

***********************

I love the Christmas season.  I think those were my favorite memories growing up.  My parents always made it special.  We used to pray the advent wreath nightly.  I can still remember the smell of the candles and the special cookies from the round tin we got to have when we were done.

Christmas is the smells of my dad’s warm store in the cold winter night.  The way his painted store windows looked so beautiful in the night  as he worked so hard to fill all of the orders for brisket and roasts that would become the center piece of so many El Pasoan’s Christmas feasts.  I’m so incredibly proud to be part of that legacy.

Of course, after I lost my mom Christmas was different.  I didn’t like it.  It hurt.  It wasn’t the same.  I wanted to skip it, but that couldn’t happen.

Ava’s gotten older and loves it.  Now Allie is here and she will too.

For me, Christmas is my dad.  His house.  Our new traditions.

I love walking into his front door after 10 hours on the road and knowing I’m “Home”.  I didn’t grow up in that house, but he has done an amazing job to make it feel like our home away from home.  We go straight to our room and unpack and catch up, usually late at night, and then we are all fast asleep.

Mornings are drives to Starbucks for coffee and a stop at dad’s store for delicious burritos.  Ava’s been talking about getting one for months now.

There’s so much more to being in town for Christmas.  There’s seeing the rest of my family, J’s family, laughing and catching up. And the food?  Oh my goodness.  Yum.  It’s wonderful.

Seeing the light in Ava’s eyes makes me smile.  It’s good to feel the love around us.  My heart still hurts no matter how hard I try not to let it happen, because she’s not there.  She’s the one I want to drop everything for and go visit.   I try not to because Ava hates when I cry, but sometimes I just can’t help it.  She was Christmas.  After the tears fall, I smile and remind myself of the blessings and people around me.

Christmas is about family and love.  Christmas is the epitome of home, no matter where it is as long as you’re with the ones you love.

playing at dad's * making cookies * santa at grampy's * dad

*************************

Comfort is the perfect gift for everyone on your holiday gift list, so be sure to take advantage of Tempur-Pedic’s Buy 2, get 1 free pillow offer! I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective.

5 thoughts on “Christmas at “Home”.

  1. Home is where the love is…you bet.
    I can’t imagine not having my parents around for Christmas. Sending you love and strength as the holidays approach. Keep looking at the glimmer of excitment and happiness in Ava’s eyes.

What do YOU have to say?

