He’s the Reason

As I lay in bed at my dad’s house tonight, child asleep sweetly waiting for Santa, mass at the Vatican on tv, I can’t help but think of my Mom and the pin she wore religiously during advent.

“Jesus is the reason for the season” it said. It’s one of my favorite memories of her at the holidays. Even broken and glued back together, she always wore it.

My parents always stressed the importance of Christ in Christmas. We prayed the advent wreath as a family. We went to Christmas Eve mass. Always.

I read a quote today that said something like when you get do worried about all the earthly things, you’ve gotten too far from the true meaning of Christmas- the birth of baby Jesus. Our savior.  For many of us the stress at the holidays makes us dislike Christmas, because we are too focused on the material side, not what it truly stands for.

On this Christmas Eve, I’m reflecting on all I have. All the love bestowed on me, the love I can give in return. The friends so incredibly dear to my heart and the loved ones that will always have a piece of me no matter where they may be, heaven or earth. I may not be in church every Sunday, but my faith is strong and I’m grateful for my relationship with God.

Tonight I wish you and your families a chance to reflect, be thankful, share love and blessings.

Merry Christmas to all of you reading this. Love from my home, to yours this year and always. 

Jess

3 thoughts on “He’s the Reason

What do YOU have to say?

