Spoiled (& very blessed) on Mother’s Day

J and Ava spoiled me this Mother’s Day as I woke to find this gorgeous purse waiting for me this morning. It was an exhausting week at work (I also worked a ten hour Saturday for the elections) so it was nice to have a day of recuperation and spoiling. I had a great day and I am so thankful for all the wonderful friends and family who wished me well.

As always, I reflect on what being a mother truly means, as well as being a daughter, and I realize how blessed I truly am. As a mom, I have learned what it means to truly love someone with your whole heart, without even having met them. I understand the love and concern my mom had for me. I understand that a mom is so much more than just the one who does the dishes, cooks and cleans. A mom is the one who influences you. A mom is the one who inspires and encourages you–no matter how silly or out of reach your endeavor is. A mom sees your pain and feels it times 10. A mom is there for you to cry to at any hour of the day or night. A mom loves you, despite all the mistakes you make along the way.

So to all my fellow mamas, and to all my girls who I know will be excellent mamas, hope you had a great day yesterday.

What do YOU have to say?

