Happy Mother’s Day

So this is a bit of a selfish/high horse type blog, but humor me please.

This Sunday is Mother’s Day. It’s also the 2 year anniversary of my last Mother’s Day with my mom and first with Ava. For me, Mother’s Day is not as joyous as it should be, but I’m working on learning to enjoy it for what it symbolizes, not the sad realization that mine is gone–both for myself and for Ava. The memory of our last holiday has truly made me reflect on so many things right now that I will probably blog about for my Mom’s anniversary. You only get one mom in this world and most of us are lucky enough to be blessed with parents who truly care about us and our well being. I am one of them.
My mom was amazing. She did so many things and I didn’t really understand how much of a superwoman she was until I had my daughter and I went back to work. I am so grateful for the example she set and when I’m feeling lazy and tired, I think, “wow my mom did this and more” (i.e. church, going to school, coaching clubs at school, etc., etc., etc.). It motivates me to be involved and stay moving, although admittedly I’m barely getting back into the realm of being involved in organizations. I am so blessed for the first/last Mother’s Day Juan, Ava and I shared with her and will always treasure that memory of our last great day together.
For all of you that still have your mom in your life: please love her, tell her, and show her–often! You are never too old to hug your mom, cry on her shoulder, listen to her words of wisdom/opinions, or just call to say hi. I think you truly begin to appreciate your parents as you get older and see the world through the eyes of a parent, or even just through the eyes of an adult. You appreciate (and realize) all the sacrifices that they make/made for you and you are grateful. You don’t realize how much you truly take your loved ones for granted until it’s too late and they are gone. And at that point, you have only your memories to comfort you in those sad times–or the pain of wondering if you did enough. Mother’s Day is just another holiday that was made up to sell cards (just like Valentine’s Day but that’s for another day, another time). Like I say about Valentine’s Day, it’s not the holiday that is special. You shouldn’t need ONE day to tell those special to your heart you love them. You should be telling them EVERY day, all year long.
Summary: Please tell your mom you love her, you appreciate her and wish her a very Happy Mother’s Day.

Mother’s Day 2006
One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. My cousin ran the Atlanta Marathon for the same organization you ran for – The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. She ran it in honor of our grandfather. Great job on finishing your marathon and what a special tribute to your mother. I don't know you, but I love your blog! Keep posting! 🙂

What do YOU have to say?

